3CD Set
Released August 1999
Cat No.: RDCD2771-3 (RDC94441-3)
RD Code: SV77-001
Compilation by J K Hall - Booklet Notes by S Barnard- Mastered by P Marchant
(Re Issued: 2005 SV77A-021  RDCD4681-3)

Following the success of the “Sounds Of The Sixties” series, I was given free rein to produce this series, so once again I decided to follow the same format, so it not only included the hits from the period, but featured many musical releases that had not been issued since their original release. Memories of TV programmes, film soundtracks, and personalities of the decade were also a prime feature of this series, with album covers depicted events from the era, rather than actual artists on the pack and again, the booklet was written in diary style to enhance this evocative feeling. I included many of the tracks that I had bought myself as a teenager during the period, which to this day have not been released on CD. On many occasions my own record collection was used as a basis to obtain masters that even the record companies had lost. Being 'let loose' to include Metal, Punk and obscure Eurovision tracks was just one of the reasons thiese became my favourite releases during my time at RD.
In 2005 the first three volumes were reissued with some tracks missing due to licensing constraints.*


1           So You Win Again – The Hits Of 1977

1 - I Feel Love - Donna Summer
2 - Yes Sir, I Can Boogie - Baccara
3 - Show You The Way To Go - The Jacksons
4 - Ma Baker - Boney M
5 - So You Win Again - Hot Chocolate
6 - Whodunit - Tavares
7 - Red Light Spells Danger - Billy Ocean
8 - Easy - The Commodores
9 - Oh Lori - Alessi
10 - Baby I Know - The Rubettes
11 - It's A Heartache - Bonnie Tyler
12 - Romeo - Mr Big
13 - Silver Lady - David Soul
14 - Egyptian Reggae - Jonathan Richman and the Modern Lovers
15 - Telephone Line - Electric Light Orchestra
16 - They Shoot Horses, Don't They? - Racing Cars
17 - Mull Of Kintyre - Paul McCartney's Wings
18 - Year Of The Cat - Al Stewart

2           I Wanna Go Back – The Memories Of 1977

1 - Don't Cry For Me Argentina - Julie Covington
2 - Star Wars' Theme - The London Cinema Orchestra
3 - You're More Than A Number In My Little Red Book - The Drifters
4 - It's Nice To Be In Love Again - Swarbriggs Plus Two
5 - L'Oiseau Et L'Enfant  - Marie Myriam
6 - Crazy Water - Elton John
7 - Ain't Gonna Bump No More (With No Big Fat Woman) - Joe Tex
8 - Every Little Teardrop - Gallagher and Lyle
9 - Telephone Man - Meri Wilson
10 - We're All Alone - Rita Coolidge
11 - Going In With My Eyes Open - David Soul
12 - I Don't Want To Put A Hold On You - Berni Flint
13 - Don't It Make My Brown Eyes Blue - Crystal Gayle
14 - Georgina Bailey - Noosha Fox
15 - I Wanna Go Back - New Seekers
16 - The Floral Dance - The Brighouse and Rastrick Brass Band
17 - Calendar Song (January, February, March) - The Trinidad Oil Company
18 - God Bless The Child from 'Bubbling Brown Sugar' - Helen Gelzer of the Original London Cast
19 - Live In Trouble - The Barron Knights

3           Do Anything You Wanna Do – The Rock Of 1977

1 - Rockin' All Over The World - Status Quo
2 - 2-4-6-8 Motorway - Tom Robinson Band
3 - No More Heroes - The Stranglers
4 - Lookin' After Number One - The Boomtown Rats
5 - She's A Wind Up - Dr Feelgood
6 - In The City - The Jam
7 - Rockwrok - Ultravox
8 - Do Anything You Wanna Do - Eddie and the Hot Rods
9 - Spanish Stroll - Mink De Ville
10 - She's Not There - Santana
11 - Black Betty - Ram Jam
12 - I Think We're Alone Now - The Rubinoos
13 - Gonna Capture Your Heart - Blue
14 - Lido Shuffle - Boz Scaggs
15 - Slow Down - John Miles
16 - Hold Back The Night - Graham Parker and the Rumour
17 - For You - Greg Kihn
18 - In The Flesh - Blondie
19 - Smoke On The Water - Deep Purple

* The track 'Ma Baker' by Boney M was ommitted from the 2005 re-issue.


  1. I have also seen a pressing of this that omits Boney M's Ma Baker. Has a release date of 2005. Was the whole Sounds Of The Seventies series reissued in 2005 and are there any other examples of tracklist changes compared with the 1999 originals? Thanks.

    1. The first three albums in this series were re-issued with tracks missing.
      1977 lost Boney M's 'Ma Baker', 1974 was just re-issued with a different catalogue number, and 1979 lost McFadden And Whitehead's 'Ain't No Stoppin' Us Now', Nick Lowe's 'Cruel to be Kind', John Williams' 'Cavatina', Barry Manilow's 'Who's Been Sleeping In My Bed' and Boney M's 'Hooray Hooray, It's A HoliHoliday'. Three Degree's 'A Woman In Love' was added to this set.

    2. Thanks very much for the information! That makes sense. I have the first 1977 and an original 1979 on its way. The End Of The Decade seems to be hardest one to get.

    3. 'End of the Decade' was the last in the series, and my last collection for RD. Although I compiled it, the printing and final checks were done by someone else. This is why the colours on the sleeve are reversed (it should have had an orange background with yellow text, so that the colours match when placed on a shelf in order!). Also, it is the only one in the series to include 'Warner' licensed tracks after a deal I had just completed for the first time for RD.